Kobayashi!!

I mentioned Takeru Kobayashi yesterday, so I thought I would share a video with you that shows the sheer awesomeness that is Kobayashi! This is also in case some of you didn’t know who he was:

Unfortunately he didn’t win that battle, but come on! Who could actually win an eating competition against a giant bear? Well, some commenter on the video appears to think that Kobayashi won the rehearsal, but we will never know for sure. Competitive eating looks like a fun job, but I imagine it has a shelf life. I can’t imagine seeing a 62 year old Kobayashi taking a van with his name emblazoned on the side to all the county fairs (do they have those in Japan) and setting up shop next to the funnel cakes or fried octopus on a stick stands and yelling at the passersby “Wanna watch me eat 30 hot dogs in a minute?!” Then his teeth fall out halfway through and he just slumps down while all the little kids laugh and point.

And, for no other reason but sheer fun, here is a video that inspires me to goofily dance every time I hear this song. Quick fun fact: I actually had an idea for an exercise video where all you did was play popular songs and everyone danced around spastically. I do it often and it always gets my heart going, why couldn’t it be a workout?

Next time you don’t feel like exercising, put on a silly song from your favorite era (eighties for me) and dance about flailing your limbs wildly!

When your spouse looks at you crazy, just tell them Heavy Evan told you to.

2 responses

  1. I personally prefer “The Black Widow,” a 90 pound Japanese woman who eat put back like 50 hot dogs. She’s a gem to watch at the annual Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest – unfortunately I love watching it every 4th of July.

Leave a Reply

