Don Giovanni make you Jump!

Don’t forget friends, there is only one more day to enter the Buddy Fruits Giveaway. Go! Enter here! Now, before its too late!

I promise I am not a Buddy Fruits spokesperson,

but this is incredibly tasty. And handsome to boot. Look how the highlighter’s checking out his backside.

And it’s only 60 calories. It actually made me stop thinking about M & M’s. For about an hour.

It’s been a very happening weekend. I got up at 5:30 this morning, removed the crusties from my eyes, got dressed, realized I had my pants on backwards, realized the Kriss Kross re-enactment/dance party is on Tuesday, got redressed correctly, then headed up to the testing center. Occasionally I serve as a proctor for standardized testing for some extra money. You want to know a secret? Those tests really aren’t designed for the entertainment of the proctor. I was able to get my Sunday School lesson done, but that was in the first hour. I forgot to bring back up reading material and the test went on for another six hours. Imagine how awkward it is to try not to make eye contact with a room full of junior high/high school students. For six hours. Also, they are not allowed to have food in the testing room, so neither am I. I ate breakfast at 6 and didn’t eat again until two. I swear I heard my stomach bellow “Don Giooovaaaaannniiii!”

My mom made me some delicious oatmeal bakes to eat for breakfast this week.

This one was my favorite. I looked in the freezer and saw the label “Cookie Dough” and before I could stop myself I was halfway through! I don’t know what all was in it, but it kept me satisfied until lunch. I will ask Mom to post the link to the recipe in the comments (Mom, if you don’t mind?)

Nikki and I had a rough end of the week, so we thought a date was in order. A friend of ours gave us a Chili’s gift card for watching their cats, so we decided now was a good time to cash it in. I also had a coupon for free queso, so we had that as an appetizer and we both got burgers for our entree. I also drank a coke. No regrets and probably no weight loss this week. Eh, sometimes you just have to eat your feelings and jump back on the wagon the next day.

Which reminds me, in the excitement over getting the giveaway together I forgot to mention that the scale said that I had lost three pounds last week. I am almost out of the 290s, and I have not weighed that little in many years. This gives me the steam I need to press on, but I know if I want to meet my goal I will have to come up with an exercise plan. The main thing that is keeping me behind is that it is dark when I leave the house in the morning and dark when I get home! I think I am going to have to find some money in our budget to pay for a monthly gym fee. We have an Anytime Fitness in town and I would like to join there because you can go anytime you want. The only keeping me is the nagging feeling that I don’t want to be there alone at three in the morning with whoever else would come to a gym at three in the morning.

In case you didn’t get my jokes earlier in this post, here are some explanatory videos:

Enjoy your weekend!

2 responses

  1. I would really like to see that recipe, Angie.
    Evan, you are doing great. Slow and steady is the way to do it. You will have times when you “eat your feelings” and that’s o.k. as long as you get right back on the wagon. My problem has always been that once I do that I think, oh well, I’ve failed again, might as well eat again, and again, and again. I’m learning to put it behind me and start anew with the next meal.

  2. I can’t imagine many things worse than sitting in a classroom proctoring a test for that long with no reading material! That’s torture.

    Katie at http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/ has several different baked oatmeal recipes. I love them all even though you know (like Carolyn) I hate the taste and texture of regular oatmeal. I think the cookie dough is my favorite, too. Here is the link for Katie’s page of “boatmeal” recipes: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/04/01/breakfast-bars-on-the-go/

    Here’s a new one, too, coconut (I know Evan won’t like it, but others may.) http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/11/10/coconut-cookie-dough-oatmeal/

    Congratulations on the weight loss and if you really do start to think about healthy eating as a lifestyle change and not a diet, there is plenty of room to eat what you want, in moderation, about 15% of the time.

    A few months ago I printed online coupons for a free week at Anytime Fitness and at Snap Fitness. I honestly was not impressed by the way either of them were run, but Anytime seemed to have more equipment. HOWEVER, the guy in charge told me you had to have a membership (they don’t like to use the word “contract.”) You don’t have to sign a contract at Snap Fitness. I wouldn’t want to go to either one (or anywhere else) at 3:00 a.m. As your Dad always said, “Nothing good happens if you’re out after midnight.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

