PAJAMURAI!

If you haven’t already, don’t forget to enter my Buddy Fruits giveaway via this post. You have until Monday, January 30th, to enter. 

I am having trouble sleeping lately. I don’t know why, it might be because I am afraid that I will be visited by the whistling hell child again. I think it is mostly because I haven’t been consistent with my eating habits. I am going to have to sit down and come up with a strict pattern and then stick to it. I am seriously thinking about going to a registered dietician, but I really can’t afford it right now. Why doesn’t health insurance cover their customers trying to be healthier? You think it would be quite a boon to their business.

I am trying to have a healthy snack at night (around 8:30) that will sustain me throughout the night, but not do harm. I have been eating a spoonful of whatever nut butter I had on hand, but I tried a few different things this week. First up is the “necessity is the mother of invention” snack:

Banana smeared with Nutella.

While not a terrible idea, I did get too liberal with the Nutella. The stuff isn’t really all that healthy. Behind the scenes fun fact: seconds after this photo was taken my copy of the Help was covered in Nutella. For some strange reason I thought the book that I carry around all day was more sanitary than putting my peeled banana on the bare countertop.

The next night I tried this:

An apple & strawberry liquid fruit pouch by Buddy Fruits. While delicious, this is not a 8 hour sustaining snack. I think I shall revert to spoonfuls of natural peanut butter. Any other suggestions?

As you can probably tell from the photo above, I have been reading The Help. I was reading Working Out Sucks (and really enjoying it) when my wife and I decided to watch the movie version of The Help. It was a very good movie, and I would recommend it anyone. The main reason I agreed to watch the movie was that it stars Viola Davis and I would watch her make origami swans for two hours. Maybe three. In my humble opinion, she is the best working actress out there today. If you doubt my assertion, go rent Doubt and you will be convinced (see what I did there? Sneaky!) The good news is that she was nominated for an Oscar for her performance in The Help. I went to all this effort to say: I am now reading the book at the urging of my wife.

To go out on a light note, I’ll tell you a secret about me. During the day I am mild mannered Heavy Evan. But, at night I turn into….

PAJAMURAI!!!!!! 

 

6 responses

  1. My graduate assistant gave me some information on a program called “New Beginnings.” I don’t know if staff can join, but you might want to check it out. She says it is like a nutritionist helping her manage her diet.

  2. Evan, most health insurance providers will cover a doctor supervised weight loss program. You need to call your provider and ask them.

Leave a Reply

