Ye Be Warned!

Max is an interesting dog.

For instance, every day when I have finished showering I open the curtain to find this:

I really wonder what goes through his mind when he sees me enter and leave the shower. I don’t mean to insult his intelligence, but since he has no basis of knowledge concerning showers, I can only assume that he thinks I have vanished and will never return. Thus, the look of relief when I open the shower curtain and reemerge.

I was off work on Monday, so I woke up later than usual. I wanted to try something (since I had time) so I made some instant maple and brown sugar oatmeal and added a little Nutella and frozen strawberries.

It was good, but kind of a weird mix of flavors. I would definitely try the nutella and frozen strawberry concoction again, but probably with plain oatmeal.

Later our friends Zach Barrett and Tiffany Smith came over for lunch. We had deer hamburgers cooked on the Foreman grill preceded by many hours of fun and frivolity. Zach brought his croquet set which we set up in the backyard. Croquet is a lot of fun and for some reason makes you feel above your station. I couldn’t help imagining that my mallet was actually one of those long necked birds from Alice in Wonderland. I will end the comparison there lest I compare my wife to the Queen of Hearts. Which I would never!

We followed croquet with frisbee which (because it was windy) quickly became get the frisbee off the roof with that big blue ball we have in the storage room, which then dissolved into skeet shooting with a frisbee and a big blue ball. Here is a picture of me poised to strike:

This is incredibly difficult and a lot of fun. Don’t try to steal this idea enterprising readers! I poor man’s copyrighted it by writing it on a piece of paper and then mailing it to myself. I don’t know if that will stand up in a court of law, but ye be warned!

Since we get little mail beyond the daily specials of a grocery store I have never been to, I rarely enjoy checking the mail. That is why I was so excited when a package came for me the other day!

 

A little while back I won a giveaway over at Best Body Fitness and am now the proud owner of Working Out Sucks! 

I have just now starting reading this book and I am really enjoying it. I keep reading a chapter and thinking “Get out of my head Chuck Runyon!” because he points out all the excuses that I have made for years about not exercising. I will put a more detailed review of the book up once I am done reading, but I already recommend that you read it just based on the few pages I have already read.

P.S. Did you notice the banner that I have added to the top right of my blog? It is in protest of the Protect IP/SOPA legislation that is currently making its way through Congress. I am in support of this protest and would love for you to check it out (if interested) and write your congressperson. For more information, click the banner or watch this video

4 responses

  1. I love strawberries and chocolate together; but I decided a long time ago that life was too short to eat oatmeal.
    I, too, support the protest and have signed the petition.

Leave a Reply

