You Can Do Anything!

I have amazing parents.

They taught me that I could do anything I put my mind to, but that I had to work hard to do it.

This is hard to swallow for a lot of parents nowadays, and they kick their kids out of the nest with their wings clipped.

I don’t have kids, so I certainly don’t judge anyone’s parenting style. But, I have worked in a University setting and I have noticed that a lot of the kids I worked with had the “I don’t have to anything and everything will fall into my lap” mentality. This fire has been stoked by the Justin Bieber’s of the world who get noticed on YouTube and become hugely famous.

I do have to say that I had hoped people would read this blog and think it revelatory and clap their hands together and shout “this kid’s got something!” Then I would make oodles of money and move to Montana and live on a ranch with no animals and be left alone and live happily ever after. But, now, I really don’t care about that stuff. Sure I have the dreams, but the most I really hope for from this blog is that it will help people get in touch with their feelings about food and maybe encourage them. Consider me your digital pat on the back.

This extremely long set up was meant for this video clip which I thought was hilariously humbling:

You Can Do Anything!

Please click on the link. Sorry, but NBC doesn’t allow clips of their shows on YouTube, and I couldn’t figure out how to embed it in the post.

3 responses

  1. EXCELLENT Video; outstanding post! I wanted my parents to praise me but in the 50’s & 60’s they had no time for such. They did not praise you if you pooped in to toilet…it was expected. I kid; like everything in life there should be balance. We all need and want positive reinforcement; but honesty is the best policy…always. I hated criticism and wanted to win all the time; but those that told me what I did wrong made me want to be better and losing a lot makes wining so much better when you fine the thing you were meant to do. You can do anything but nothing is ever done with out hard work and sacrifice….nothing that truly last that is.
    I know how much you hated me when I told you to do something over when it was wrong or this or that job was done poorly. But I knew one day you would understand and appreciate the honesty. That is the hard part of parenting that people avoid today… but it’s necessary for a balanced kid and a well adjusted adult.
    Thanks for being a great adult; I’m very proud of. Great job on the blog….and you know I mean it.

Leave a Reply

