I Want to be Uncomfortable

This weekend was a series of ups and downs.I made this awesome cheddar-mozzarella omelet. I don’t know how it came out so perfect, but it was delicious. Pictured with a side of peanut butter toast. Not pictured: one of the many cokes that I drank this weekend. This made me laugh for an inappropriately long time. It was a laugh I really needed and the only funny thing on a very blah episode of Saturday Night Live. It also gave me the idea to start a band and name it “Tonight at Noon”.I tweeted this last night after eating a bunch of Oreos (Mourneos=Oreos eaten while in mourning. I thought it was terribly clever). Unfortunately I continued to fail to override my feeling that food provides comfort. This is going to be very hard to overcome, but I know that with the encouragement/accountability that comes from writing this blog I have a pretty good shot. Also, a lot of praying definitely helps. But, I am still filled with regret that I can so easily fall back into the traps that led me to my current situation. I don’t give myself a lot of credit, but times like this are a real blow to the self esteem. That and the fact that I gained 1.6 pounds last week. And that was after I peed.

RANDOM CUTE DOG PHOTO!This is where Gawain tries to sleep every night. That is the look he gives us when we urge him to follow us to the bedroom, where he has his own bed. It is a look that suggests “I guess I shall demean myself to acquiesce to your request”. Random fun fact: I spend half my preparation time for this blog spell checking big words to make myself seem more intelligent.

A lot of the blogs I read have a “thought for the day” that I really enjoy. These are usually inspirational quotes from inspirational people. I thought I would do a spin on this concept that also shows my nerdiness.

No! Try not. Do. Or do not. There is no try.” – YODA

I have reached the point in the life of this blog where I would usually give up. Many times in my life I have decided to quit or give up rather than push through when things get hard. It is so easy to steer away from difficulty. Kind of like the interstate of life. You take the interstate instead of side roads because it is so easy. It is set up for ease of use. The interstate, however, is incredibly boring. Sure, it may get you where you are going faster, but all you will see on the way there are truck stops and punnily named adult bookstores. The people who take the side roads are more interesting. The people who take the side roads get to see the sun rise over a field of full of deer. I hope that I can take more side roads.

It would be really easy to quit writing this blog, eat a bag of M & M’s and die in ten years. Easy and comfortable. It’s time to change and work HARD towards some serious goals. I want to come to the end of my life and not have any more regrets.

I want my tombstone to read: “He was never comfortable”

 

12 responses

  1. You didn’t develop your eating habits overnight and you are not going to change them overnight. The most difficult part is realizing you need to change and you have done that. Now it’s just a matter of taking it moment by moment, doing the best you can. It takes time to develop a habit. . . .whether it be a good one or a bad one . . . . and each good food choice you make is taking you one step farther on the path of good eating and a healthy life.

    To follow up on your road/interstate analogy, I am reminded of one of my favorite poems by Robert Frost.

    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth;

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same,

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I marked the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

  2. Here is a caption you can put over Gawain’s head in the picture above for this is what I think he his saying. “I see you struggle kind sir. Some said I was not a good dog, a little crazy not worth the trouble. But you hung in there with me and understood me and gave me a home. So I will not give up on you, take as good a care of yourself because you see you take good care of me by feeding me the right food. I’m here for you fateful as always and I believe in YOU!”

  3. You’ve made great progress – you can keep it up!

    Funny that Gawain prefers the couch. Our dogs could learn a little something. I wake up each morning pushed to the smallest corner of the bed with both of them on top of me. 90 pounds of poodle isn’t always comfortable first thing in the morning …

    • Funny you should say that, because if I don’t get up when my wife asks me to I get a 30 pound Gawain on my chest. He is also fond of licking my face incessantly until I wake up. I think she trained him to do this when I wasn’t looking.

Leave a Reply

