Hence the Removal

Every day I’m slankin’ it. This was me, on the couch, Friday night. I had told Nikki about my triumph over the burger and she felt I needed a treat. Well, I might have alluded to the fact that a treat was warranted. Either way, she came home with this:I was as happy as a set of ginger twins on the front of a cereal box. In essence, I was “living well”. And by well I mean, I ate this entire box of cereal within 24 hours. It is my crack cereal. The kind you eat in a giant mixing bowl with one of those giant wooden novelty spoons all of our grandmothers had on the wall in the kitchen.

I was looking forward to Saturday, because we had a couple date planned. We went out to eat with the Busbys! It was a lot of fun. I met the Busbys through my sister-in-law, who is the sister of Mrs. Busby (confused yet?). Either way we had a lovely time. We went to dinner and then to see Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows. The movie was good, but the food before was excellent. We went to local eatery Proud Larry’s. I had skipped lunch earlier, because I knew we were going out for dinner (I have still yet to find out if this is healthy or not. Any idea regular commenter?). I perused the menu hungrily and finally settled on a spinach and mushroom calzone (sorry for the lack of pictures, but I was trying to keep the weirdness level at a 5 until the Busbys got to know me better). It was a huge puff of crust with a mushroom on top, that I removed forthwith. I am not too keen on eating mushrooms in the first place, but if they are lodged in cheese I am able to oblige. There is no way I am going to eat one in the open, hence the removal. I didn’t have a problem devouring the contents of the calzone and declare it delicious. I was hungry again by the time the movie was over, so I made a grilled cheese when I got home.

Sunday morning we had a Christmas party with our Sunday school class. Everyone brought a breakfast dish to the Grays and we partied like Southern Baptists do, which basically means you always have heartburn afterwards. We brought sausage balls, then there was crescent roll things filled with sausage and cream cheese, a sinful (ironically) cinnamon roll casserole hybrid, a breakfast casserole that featured tomatoes (I looked at this and exclaimed out loud “Yay, vegetables!”) and pigs in a blanket. It was a good time. I realized that I am going to have to make concessions during the holidays, so I tried one of everything. You really can hurt peoples feelings if you refuse to eat their food. They’ll ask you about it later – “say how did you like my lard covered wedge of cheese dish?” You have to say “It was great” with a burp, or you might lose a friend.

I am trying to get back on track, but it is just going to be harder and harder to eat well closer to the holidays. I am just going to have to practice moderation as best I can. Speaking of which, I ate before I weighed myself this morning so I have yet to find out the repercussions of last week’s unhealthy dalliances. Needless to say, I needed something fairly healthy for breakfast. I chose toast with Justin’s almond butter (thanks Santa) and a banana. Unfortunately that was the healthiest decision I made today. More on that tomorrow.

Until then!

9 responses

    • I think it would be ok…but a lot of Apple butters add in sugar. If it was 100 % Apple I would say yes, but I am pretty sure they add stuff to it. The almond butter I used is made of all natural ingredients. A good rule of thumb is that if the ingredients list looks like chemistry homework, its not good for you.

  1. Since you asked . . . . . .

    No, it’s not a good idea to go without eating before a big dinner, party, holiday event, etc. The idea is that you’re saving up the calories for that one meal. After all the only key to weight loss is “calories in, calories out,” right? However, what happens is that by the time you get to that dinner you are starving and wind up eating more than you would have if you had eaten breakfast and lunch. It’s the same theory as never going to the grocery store hungry.

    I think there’s something to the idea (even though I think it was designed to sell Special K or some such healthy food) that if you start the day making healthy food choices, you are more likely to carry that throughout the day. So if you know you’re going to have a special dinner or go to a particular restaurant, it’s probably best to go ahead and have a light, healthy breakfast and lunch.

    One tip I have heard over and over from the “experts” is to drink a full glass of water before a meal and that will help you feel full and not eat as much.

    Also, as far as eating during the holidays, no one should feel deprived. I think you have the right idea regarding getting just a bite or so of everything you really want to try. That way you get to taste it all and no one’s feelings should get hurt. Another tip from the “experts” here. . . . only try the things you really want though. Don’t waste calories on things you could take or leave.

    Just my two cents (actually it was probably more like a dime).

Leave a Reply

