Max: An Introspective

I almost typed “A Retrospective” as the title. I guess that’s just wishful thinking.

I went to the Tacky Shack (a local eatery) the other day and had this amazing black bean burger.My blog memory is a little hazy, so if I’ve talked about it before I’m sorry. Also, I had the option of fries and I turned it down. That was a major milestone for me. Just ask the lady who had to take my order about the big sweaty guy who stood there for 20 minutes with a furrowed brow and she will confirm. Back to the burger-it must be in an Ambrosia bun because it melts in your mouth. Just give it a try if you are in the Oxford or Grenada area. You won’t be disappointed.

I am sorry it has been so long since my last post. I have been really bogged down lately. I was going to write one last night, but we had to go see a Christmas concert featuring Nikki’s cousin Caitlin on the sixth grade clarinet. That’s her looking towards the stands in the third row from the left. She is the second chair, next to the young lady in green. They played exceptionally well and it got us into the Christmas mood. We were so proud to see Caitlin playing a concert after only a few weeks of playing.

Max is a dog that I inherited. Nikki already had Max a couple of years before we got married. I think he is warming up to me, but he still shoots me hateful looks. Also, Nikki and I can’t kiss without him becoming six degrees of pissed. It is hilarious to watch him because he starts darting around the house looking for something to “kill”. This is when he takes his (or Gawain’s) toy and slings it into submission. This is how Max shows us his disapproval. The bad thing is, Nikki’s dad used to mess with Max when Nikki would go to sleep. He would jiggle the doorknob and open and close the door. You can imagine how this has traumatized Max into his four years with me. Every time I touch a doorknob he growls at me. I swear he was doing it in this picture, even though it doesn’t look like it.

All that aside, I really love the little critter and he brings a lot of enjoyment to the house. For instance: in the mornings, after Nikki leaves, we watch Boy Meets World together. Today was the episode where Cory and Shawn go to a make out party. Classic!

This weekend is Nikki’s birthday. I am very excited because for eight months out of the year our age difference will be four years instead of 5 and I don’t have to think that she would have been in 8th grade when I was a senior in high school. We are eating tonight at a Mexican restaurant. Does just the rice equal a healthy option or should I get some sort of vegetable quesadilla? Let me know!

9 responses

  1. We just talked about rice at my group this week – a serving/portion is 1/2 cup. I’m guessing most Mexican restaurants bring you three or four times that much. So, if you get it, just don’t eat tons of it. Still, better to eat rice (or rice & salsa) than chips & salsa. I’ve started asking them to take the chips away so I don’t have to look at them. If my husband wants them, I build a little wall with the salt & pepper & any little menu cards or whatnot so I can’t see them.

    It is SO HARD to eat a burger without fries – congratulations! After a few times, it gets easier, because you realize that you can be full from just eating a burger.

    There are times that I would probably push a little old lady out of the way to get a french fry. Some day, I’ll be able to eat them in moderation. Maybe. Sigh …

    • It’s funny you should say that Andie, because I have a story to tell about an old woman and MY french fries. One day I was eating at the front desk at work (because I had to answer the phone) and an older lady that worked there walked up to me, said “Hey Evan” and proceeded to eat my french fries. I burned with hatred. She is lucky she walked away because I may have choked her. I have a serious problem because this happened almost four years ago and I still think about it and get mad.

      That is a good idea about the little wall. I will definitely have to try that!

Leave a Reply

