Thanks Thanksgiving for the Thankfulness, pt. 2

That was a great, albeit fast-moving, week off. Nikki and I got a lot done and now this is in our living room:You can also see Zelda paused on the tv. I can’t believe it’s the “most wonderful time of the year” again. I woke up on Saturday around 8:00 and my wife was feverishly wrapping presents, so that is why there are already presents under the tree. That lady loves to wrap.

Our Thanksgiving was wonderful. We ate with my mom and dad. My dad works in Savannah, so we don’t get to see him very often. That made this Thanksgiving a very special occasion. I even tucked in my shirt!But I didn’t wear shoes. It was close to 70 degrees outside!

Nikki and I signed up to bring a dessert, but since I took on the Sweet Tooth challenge I couldn’t partake of it. We made Double Chocolate/Single Chin brownies from the Peas and Thank You cookbook. I heard they tasted good. Alright, full disclosure: I ate one. I tried not to, but I was walking by the counter to refill my tea and couldn’t stop my hand from swiping one and eating it. So a day and a half into the challenge and I had already eaten a dessert. At least it was a healthier version. I have steeled my resolve and will not let this happen again. You can count on me, friends.

We arrived at my mothers around 11:00 and since we weren’t eating until 2:00 my mom had set up some food to snack on. She made Apple Spice Hummus and Chocolate Peanut Butter Hummus:(That’s my dad, approving of the Hummus) I tried the Apple Spice on a graham cracker and it was delicious. I stayed away from the Chocolate Peanut Butter, for my own good. I knew if I tried it my face would end up in the bowl.

She also put out an awesome cheese tray with gouda, aged sharp cheddar, colby jack and a cranberry goat cheese.Oh, and Queso Chipotle Laughing Cow cheese. I spent most of my time hovering around this tray. I even ate some after the meal for dessert.

Here is a picture of my lunch plate:We had turkey, dressing, this broccoli and cheese crockpot thing that I didn’t like (sorry Mom!), a corn casserole thing from Hungry Girl that was excellent and some gold potatoes, sweet potatoes and onion that was all together in a crockpot (Mom please correct any of my mistakes in the comments). It was a wonderful, wonderful meal and I was very thankful for it and the time I got to spend with my lovely family. The rest of the weekend was spent watching all my teams lose football games, playing Zelda and shooting guns with my Pops.

Interesting side note: This morning I weighed in at 305 a difference of .8 pounds from last week. Immediately after I weighed I used the restroom. Nikki shouted “Don’t you know you are supposed to pee before you weigh?”

“No, I didn’t,” I retorted with a chuckle.

“Try it again, just to see.”

I weighed again and it said I lost 3.5 pounds.

I have lost faith in digital scales.

15 responses

  1. You got all the food correct and I think the pictures turned out good, too.

    Boy, you have a lot to learn about weighing yourself. You ALWAYS weigh early in the morning after you have gone to the restroom and moved around a little but before eating or drinking anything. You must also remove all clothes. There is a science to this, after all. Just ask any woman.

    You do get credit for ‘fessing up to grabbing that brownie. No one would have ever known otherwise.

  2. Here’s Brandon method of weighing…Weigh after eating three meals:) For some reason, he likes to weigh at night. I have told him over and over again, you have to potty first and weigh before any food or drink hits your mouth. Williams boys are funny!

    • I am glad that I am now privy to information that I didn’t even know existed. Well, ok, I do know to weigh in the morning before I’ve eaten, but I had no idea about using the restroom first. Now that I know that, it does make a lot of sense.

    • Another tip: If you are weighing at the doctor’s office you wear the lightest clothes possible and make sure you take off your shoes (no problem if you wear flip flops all the time). Also, don’t wear any jewelry, watches, etc.

  3. Oh my yes, Evan, you really need to get with the program on the whole bathroom first, weigh second with no clothes protocol. 😉

    I weigh once a week at the doctor’s office, but not until 5 pm or so, so I at least wear the same clothes each time. And hit the ladies’ room first.

    • Thanks Andie. I have a question-do you only weigh at the doctor’s office? I was wondering if those scales are more accurate than the digital one I have at home. The reason being that I always weigh more on the doctor’s scale.

Leave a Reply

