Thanks Thanksgiving for the Thankfulness

Yesterday was an interesting day.

For instance, for no reason whatsoever, I decided to live tweet myself watching thirty minutes of the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie Commando. I only did the first thirty minutes because I realized reading the Hunger Games would be infinitely more interesting. Twenty minutes later I woke up with drool on my Kindle.

This morning I had to eat quickly, so I made some whole wheat toast and topped it with cashew butter and banana slices.The banana kind of took over the plate. I promise I will get better at this.

Today is our annual Thanksgiving Lunch at work. I HATE these events. I can’t stand to be forced to make something and then have people be smoozy all around it. “Oh that looks so good!” ” I’ve never seen such an original idea for a recipe!””Does that smoking mean it’s done?!” I know people mean well when they do this, but I would rather avoid the thing all together. But, since my want to be liked overwhelms my negative attitude, I searched for awhile to find the perfect recipe. I finally settled on Canadian Maple Baked Beans from the website Oh She Glows. I chose this recipe because it looked remarkable and you make it in the crock-pot. Deliciousness and laziness? Sign me up! Since this had to serve a good bit of people, I doubled the recipe. Now, my OCD kicked in and I am sure that I somehow screwed this up by not following the recipe EXACTLY. I really fret and worry about this kind of stuff. Here is Nikki adding the cranberries:You want to know why she added the cranberries? The recipe called for a handful and I (seriously) thought that if I put a handful in it would have been too much because the recipe was written by a woman. I don’t know if this is old school sexist or downright insane. I’ll let you be the judge.

The meal went well and a couple of people really liked the beans and asked for the recipe. I don’t know why I get so worked up over these things, they really are a lot of fun. It is nice to sit down with your co-workers because when you do you realize that you don’t really know these people at all. I got to hear some funny stories and some sad stories. I got to find out that we know some of the same people and have the same opinions about them. It really started to feel like we were becoming a community with each other. Sometimes when you work with someone it’s like you only see one small inch of a giant canvas. If you spend some time, and paint in the rest of the canvas, you can step back and think “Wow, that is a really beautiful picture. I’m so glad I got to see that.” I am glad I put aside my negative feelings and dove in to be a part of this meal with my co-workers friends.

That is something for which to be thankful.

4 responses

  1. I love this post. It is very thoughtful and inciteful. It would be good for us all to view our relationships with co-workers (and others) this way.

    As for yesterday’s post, boy do I have a lot to say about that. Reading it was just like revisiting all the relationships I’ve had with friends over the years. You are so much like me, it’s scary. But I’m not going to divulge all my secrets online so I’m just going to say that even though you have experienced pain and will most likely continue to experience pain because of friendships, you do so because you have such a kind, loving, caring heart and that should never be something of which you’re ashamed.

  2. I can imagine it being quite stressful, cooking for others that is. Of course you want them to like it and if you can’t convince them would be rather devastated I am sure. The food looks interesting. 😉

Leave a Reply

