A little Butter goes a long way, albeit very Slowly!

I have a confession to make.

I didn’t actually play the lady off that was talking to me on Friday (confused? see this post). I was talking to my brother and he said “Evan, that was really rude.” I took a little artistic license there and made it seem like what I imagined in my head had actually happened. I assure you, I am not that rude in real life. Only in my thoughts.

You know what I ate for lunch on Saturday, but I want you to know that for the rest of the weekend I made very healthy decisions. Even though I ate my weight in pizza, I still was a little hungry that evening. I decided on this:Panda Puffs with Almond Milk.

I bought Panda Puffs because Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point is always talking about them. Let me tell you, she is absolutely right to talk them up because they are delicious. I asked Nikki to taste them and she made a face that looked like a lizard having a seizure. She is not a fan of Almond Milk.

We went to my mom’s for lunch, as we do every Sunday. I love eating with Mom because she is so excited about us trying to eat healthier and she is the one who tipped me off to all the great vegetarian, vegan, and healthy living blogs there are out there. Here’s what was on the menu: Roasted red potatoes and green beansMaple infused butternut squash and apples from this recipePumpkin Cornbreadand Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Molasses cookie dough balls. One is missing here because I ate it. Before the top had even come off. Mom actually made these into ice cream sandwiches for us with some vanilla frozen yogurt, but I regrettably did not take a picture. Probably because they shot into my mouth as soon as they were out of the freezer. Here’s my lunch plate:

Everything was wonderful, except the maple infused butternut squash and apples. For some reason, I have never liked cooked apples. They call me a Communist at company picnics because I don’t eat apple pie. That cornbread was so awesome I took some home and ate it for dinner. I prepared it by slicing it open, putting a lot little butter on the top and reheating it in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. Supercalifragilisticexpeali-delicious.

I woke up this morning and decided to do some exercising on the ol’ WiiFit. We were in a hurry so I just did fifteen minutes of Free Step. This is a cool routine on the game that allows you to step on and off the balance board while watching something else on your tv. There is a lady voice that counts with you on the Wii remote so you can keep in step. Nikki did fifteen minutes of yoga with a soundtrack presumably provided by Victor Wooten. I felt lazy and did not want to juice this morning (or should I say take an extra 30 minutes to clean all the parts of the juicer after juicing) so I ate some more Panda Puffs in Almond Milk.

I was very excited to find out, while reading this blog, that there is a Couch to 5k app for iPhone! Perhaps I can use this information to guilt my wife into letting me purchase an iPhone 4s. I’m fairly certain I could find a way to make even Siri give me the silent treatment.

Happy Monday!

P.S. I took a page out of Fiona Apple’s book for my Post Title. Please excuse me for this. 

 

6 responses

  1. I’m glad you love eating with me because I truly love cooking for you. I still say you should have let me plate the food before you took the pictures though. 🙂 Although I love cooking in Mama’s old saucepan.

  2. “When the pawn hits the conflicts he thinks like a king
    What he knows throws the blows when he goes to the fight
    And he’ll win the whole thing ‘fore he enters the ring
    There’s no body to batter when your mind is your might
    So when you go solo, you hold your own hand
    And remember that depth is the greatest of heights
    And if you know where you stand, then you know where to land
    And if you fall it won’t matter, cause you’ll know that you’re right.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/When_the_Pawn%E2%80%A6

Leave a Reply

