My body’s saying let’s go, but my heart is saying NO.

I had a very good, albeit unhealthy weekend.

We woke up early Saturday morning to get the house in order to entertain friends later that evening. We had breakfast with the in-laws which meant biscuits, eggs and bacon. A wonderful meal, but I was pressured into eating more than I wanted. Any Southerner will know what I mean by that.

After some much needed weed-eating, then another trek outside to get the spots I missed with the first weed-eating it was time for lunch. This is top shelf peanut butter. Quite literally, in fact, as it was on the top shelf at Kroger. I have to say that this was probably the best peanut butter sandwich I have ever eaten. I dreamed about this for the next two days. I ate an apple with this sandwich, but the taste wasn’t comparable. I bit into it once and then seriously considered slathering the White Chocolate Wonderful on, but my will power won this round. That makes the score 4,506 – 3.

Our friends Kaleb and Lisa Rogers came over Saturday night and we had Taco Soup with Cornbread Muffins.

Nikki makes this soup, so I am not quite sure of the recipe. I did get a few peeks over her shoulder and noticed several cans of beans and one of tomatoes. Then I was smacked with a soup stained stirry-thingy and I ceased the peeking.  I have no idea what was in these, but there was a can of Crisco on the counter. That might be why I ate them like mini-muffins. 

It was a wonderful meal and a wonderful time catching up with friends. After dinner we played Ticket to Ride, our new favorite game. The first time we played I did not think I would like it, but this is a remarkably fun game. I highly recommend it. After Lisa stomped us all at Ticket to Ride we broke out Beatles:Rock Band.I like this picture because you can see them in action. That would be Kaleb filming his wife playing the drums and Nikki killing lead guitar. There were some guts busted and some faces melted.

Sunday was filled with church and catching up with our friend Meagan and her boyfriend John Cole. I didn’t take any pictures, but we had Chicken Spaghetti for lunch. I am fairly sure there is no nutritional benefit to this dish except it’s deliciousness. I am pretty sure Velveeta was in there, and I’m also pretty sure said Velveeta will be in my system for seven years. Kind of like when you swallow gum. After lunch we had brownies with cream cheese icing and my button snapped off my pants and knocked out John Cole. That last part may or may not have happened, but I sure felt like it could have. I made myself feel better by not eating at all the rest of the day.

Trying to start Monday off right, I juiced for breakfast.This is sort of my own recipe involving: one cup of Spinach, about five leaves of Kale, two stalks of celery, three carrots, three apples, and a one-inch piece of Ginger. It was very good, although I think I overdid it on the Ginger. I will only use 1/2 inch in the future because the flavor is really strong. The five leaves of Kale may have made one ounce of juice. The yield was small but it was a really dark green color so you know it was full of nutritional goodness. Wonderful breakfast, but by 9:30 my stomach was making sounds like a U.F.O. in a bad science fiction movie. I like to think of these noises as my stomach saying “Thank you Evan. It is much less crowded in here than yesterday.”

I am currently reading a book called Thrive that I am very excited about. It is full of useful information about a plant based diet and I hope to post a full review once I have finished.

3 responses

    • Yeah, that is why I am hoping to make those larabars this week. I keep trying to find time to make them while my dvr keeps filling up. It is hard to hear the Walking Dead over the food processor and if I turn it up too loud Nikki will think a war broke out.

Leave a Reply

